Bahasa: Lain-lain

Eyeing the Top Spirit of Entrepreneurship

It was a celebration filled with glamour and glitter against the elegant black and gold theme of the evening when the crème-de-la crème of SMEs in Malaysia were announced. Reaching for the moon to be among the stars had indeed paid off for the winner. Eyecon Group Sdn. Bhd. bagged the top spot at the Enterprise 50 2012 Award dinner held recently at One World Hotel on 9 November.

Enterprise 50 is an annual award programme that honours the best 50 SMEs in the country. Sydney Cake House came in as the first runner up and Goodnite Enterprise Sdn. Bhd. took third place from among the top 50 SMEs.

This is the 16th successful year that E50 Award had revealed another 50 SME gems in the country. Since its inception in 1996, the E50 Award had been opened to all home-grown SMEs annually. However, in 2012, participation in E50 was by invitation only. More than 400 companies that had been evaluated and rated four stars and above, under the SME Competitive Rating for Enhancement (SCORE), were invited to participate. The focus this year was to give greater recognition to companies that were well positioned for the future, competitive, resilient, and capable of facing global challenges in true entrepreneurial spirit.

The E50 Award is a mark of entrepreneurial excellence and so far, it has attracted 1,673 participants and established an alumni of 511 companies. Augmented with a mark of recognition and invaluable endorsement, 40 of these companies are already listed on the Main Board of the Malaysian Bourse, while 12 companies are on the ACE Market.

This year, manufacturing was the most dominant sector that had participated in E50. It comprised 40% of the nominations which was a 6 percentage point increase from 34% last year. The nomination from other sectors such as Services, Healthcare, Consultation, and Interior Design recorded a 14 percentage point increase from 8% to 22%, followed by Professional Services with a 2 percentage point increase from 12% to 14%. Lastly, Real Estate/Construction recorded a 6 percentage point increase from 4% last year to 10% this year.

Bumiputera-led companies recorded a 210% increase in their participation from 10 companies in 2011 to 31 companies in 2012. This year saw an emergence of successful women-owned companies that are innovative, competitive and resilient, a testament of the conducive business environment in Malaysia that recognises the importance of women’s diverse roles and broad participation in the main stream of national development towards achieving a high-income economy.

Each of the E50 winners had received a trophy and a certificate, and was automatically nominated for the Industry Excellence Award (AKI) and the National Productivity Award. In addition, the winners would also be featured on the E50 homepage and enjoy media coverage from Business Times, Media Prima and Malaysia SME.

The guest-of-honour at the E50 Award dinner was Y.B. Dato’ Sri Mustapa Mohamed, Minister of International Trade and Industry, who had presented the awards to all of the winners. The function was also attended by Y. Bhg. Datuk Ir. (Dr.) Mohamed Al Amin Hj. Abdul Majid, Chairman of SME Corp. Malaysia; Mr. Tan Theng Hooi, Country Managing Partner of Deloitte Malaysia Sdn. Bhd.; and Y. Bhg. Dato’ Hafsah Hashim, Chief Executive Officer of SME Corp. Malaysia.

The E50 Award was jointly organised by SME Corp. Malaysia and Deloitte Malaysia, with the support from their strategic partners namely RHB Bank Berhad, Telekom Malaysia Berhad, Business Times, Media Prima Berhad and Malaysia SME.





Perbadanan Perusahaan Kecil dan Sederhana Malaysia
Tingkat 6, SME 1, Blok B 
Platinum Sentral
Jalan Stesen Sentral 2 
Kuala Lumpur Sentral
50470 Kuala Lumpur.

Talian Info: 1-300-30-6000
Talian Faks: 03-2775 6001

Emel: info[at]smecorp[dot]gov[dot]my


Borang Maklumbalas


Tekun2 SKM1  
output onlinepngtools Logo UDA 2020 SME Bank edit  
logo bankrakyat PNS LOGO White S protege1  



PKS di Malaysia

Prestasi PKS & Tinjauan

Dasar Keusahawanan Nasional 2030 (DKN2030)

Polisi PKS